Gaekju – God of Commerce – Teaser 1


Here is the first teaser for upcoming sageuk “Gaekju” aka “God of commerce (aka The Innkeeper, The Inn, The peddler). The drama will start on September 23rd on KBS. 

Thanks to Zoi 

This first teaser presents some important characters played by solid actors with great experience in the historical genre, including Lee Duk Hwa (Midas, Salaryman, Giant) It has a strong traditional sageuk feel (not surprising given the PDs reputation in this genre) and it already reveals attention to detail and an honest attempt at keeping historical accuracy. 

We can also tell that “money” and how it affects people will be the central theme of the drama. 

It does not feel like this will be a flashy full of spectacle or heroic actions drama. It looks like it will tell the story of everyday “normal” characters. Following teasers will probably reveal more on the main characters

These are some pics uploaded on the official KBS site and Jang Hyuk’s instagram

Jang Hyuk posted this image on his IG and titled it Bong Sam (his character) Tal (korean mask) comparing his expression to the famous smiling (and wrinkly ;)) mask. Sho cute! 

 
   
    
 

17 responses to “Gaekju – God of Commerce – Teaser 1

  1. Lol I love how sageuk dramas seem to always use the same, like, 7 actors to play older male roles.

  2. I am excited for this! First time I will be watch a JH drama ‘live’as it airs. A lot of people are not sure who is the female lead though, is it Kim or Han? Anyway I dont really care, as long JH is the male lead wahaha… Think the first few episodes will be kids actors, not sure when will adult JH appear

  3. Aaaah cant wait to watch this stunning drama

  4. hahaahaha! I guess we need to give it a chance to make more trailers. It is 50 eps. I was disappointed Han Chae Ah was nowhere to be seen, but the blank face actress (looking decidedly blank as usual) got her spot. :/ I’m not gonna worry about the romance, I need to put my serious sageuk lenses on. This is about the rise of Bong Sam. It’s like Yong Pal right now is the Joo Won show and I think he’s amazing all by himself.

  5. I’m really looking forward to this, but I admit I groaned when Lee Deok Hwa’s smarmy image and voice over started. I’m not sure who he plays in this drama, but I’m probably not off the mark by saying it’ll no doubt be some greedy, sneaky, snake-oil merchant, a role he’s over-played to perfection in nearly every drama he’s in. At least they saved Jang Hyuk for last! That’s a cool comparison with the mask.

    • I actually like Lee Duk Hwa a lot. Especially his characters in Midas, Salaryman and Giant. He was a good guy in those, although with some “demons”. He also appreciates Jang Hyuk so I might be biased here 🙂 This looks like it might be a very sageuky sageuk and I know that this usually turns off non sageuk lovers but Im actually craving an actual historical so I hope this is what it looks like. I have sort of accepted that it might not be popular with international fans and it’ll air at a difficult time slot. So all I can hope is for it to be good.

      • Always biased for JH! lol. I liked him in Midas, and he was a hoot in Hotel King. But the act wore thin with me. What’s cluing me in that it’s a “sageuky sageuk” (hahaha!) as you put it, is starting off a trailer with all the “old” guys. I need a translation. lol. I’m assuming they’re the Merchant kings on the street, and along comes Bong Sam to blow their spot and take over the trade. This will be the 3rd Jang Hyuk drama to deal with greed as a big theme. Just like Tazza and Midas. Though to me, Tazza was more about the addiction of the game, because with all that money he won, he didn’t better himself much, he kept playing, losing, winning, losing, winning, etc. etc.

        • Yes, I think Tazza was about “gambling” and Midas was about “greed” but definitely related themes. I also suppose there’ll be a lot of “gambling and greed” on Gaekju, except Bongsam is more of a righteous guy (or so it says on the snyopsis) while our previous heroes were very very veeeery flawed and anti heroic. I feel the need to rewatch Midas now. I haven’t in a long time. In fact, I think I never rewatched it except for a few scenes. Gaekju also reminds me of Daemang aka “Great Ambition” which also dealt with the lives of Joseon merchants. Jang Hyuk’s character was a very unlikely sageuk hero in it, all brains and heart, super vulnerable and human. I loved him.

          • I’ve seen Midas twice. It does get boring in spots, but how exciting could a long drama about rising and falling stocks be? lol. The 2nd time around I enjoyed the characters more than what was going on. I still haven’t seen Daemang. I nearly forgot about it with all the new stuff. But now that my drama watching is calm, (I know my limits.) I’m gonna add it to a watch list. I don’t watch a million things at once anymore, and I’m always looking out for really good ‘old’ dramas.

            • I don’t watch a million things at once either! I have a hard time finding time to rewatch entire dramas too. But I’m feeling a strong urge to rewatch Midas and Daemang now because of this Gaekju anticipation. I hope I can! I need to remember why I didn’t quite love Jang Hyuk’s character in Midas too. I do remember liking the drama tho and the secondary characters. Especially his father and brother. The issue is, If I watch it I feel this “obligation” to write a review but Im feeling laaaaazy. I have such a long to do list! Even regarding this blog!

              • Maybe watch it in scenes. I loved the brother too! They were great characters. And No Min woo was very good. I loved his greedy card shark in Tazza a lot more than his greedy broker in Midas. haha.

                • His greedy card shark had a lot of heart! I think his character in Midas was too cold and distant for me to love. I like that it was a “different” role for him, he usually plays highly energetic, smart but very emotional guys (making myself swoon here! I love his energetic super emo underdogs!) but a change is also appreciated. He did play an amazing poker faced psychopath in The Client. Gosh! Spazzing again! Will this ever stop? Lololol This Bongsam is giving strong Ddolbock without revenge agenda feels though. We’ll see!

        • And yuuuuup the staring off with “old” guys also confirmed my suspicions that this won’t be targeted at Hallyu fans, no khotties in sight, no hint of romance, Jang Hyuk has his shirt on, etc

          • hahaahaha! I guess we need to give it a chance to make more trailers. It is 50 eps. I was disappointed Han Chae Ah was nowhere to be seen, but the blank face actress (looking decidedly blank as usual) got her spot. :/ I’m not gonna worry about the romance, I need to put my serious sageuk lenses on. This is about the rise of Bong Sam. It’s like Yong Pal right now is the Joo Won show and I think he’s amazing all by himself.

Leave a Reply

