Fated to love you – Ep 19 – Thoughts and discussion


I know I sound like a broken record now, but I loved this episode. I can’t write at the moment because I need to finish some work but I want to link to a long excellent review of this episode writen by a korean fan and translated by our Gumi

Since I didn’t ask permission to copy it here, I prefer to link to the thread

CLICK HERE

13 responses to “Fated to love you – Ep 19 – Thoughts and discussion

  1. I am sorry to spoil the broth, but this episode has been the worst…make with broken pieces long and boring.Well tomorrow its the end and I will miss a lot of despite all.

  2. I wasn’t going to watch this because I hate forced marriages due to pregnancy. However, I am so glad I gave it a go. This show has been a ride for the ages and neither party was forced into the marriage – they exercised free will.

  3. @Gumi 🙂

    I know I sound like a broken record now, but I loved this episode…

    Well, speaking of broken records [just so you know], a bunch of us on Twitter have ‘virtually’ gathered to sing backup vocals on ChelseaS (@8ChelseaS8)’s broken record single: “I_LOVE_FTLY_AND_I_DONT_WANNA_SAY_GOODBYE_wah-HAH…!”

    Me (@CurioSerandC), I’mma “shoobie-doobie-doo-wap…”
    so jo (‏@tadeo_jo) is on “sha-la-la-la…”
    Songie (‏@songielove) adding to the bg vocals
    and uri Drama Fan will be doing the interpretive dance!

    We just might have a hit on our hands! Let’s make Gumi’s “I_LOVE_YOU_NO_END_FTLY” the side-b for the single release. What do you say, ladies?

  4. 고맙습니다, Gumi… :’-}

  5. Beautiful episode. Love the way the writes linked all the messages together, on fate, on love, on happiness and not taking the wrong path becos of fear. In ep 18 at board meeting, Gunnie says i will deal with my own fate. In this episode, his father tells him not to fear, but to go ahead and deal with it. I hope the last episode will see more happiness and a thread to close for Daniel and Sera. A K drama that is not too melodramatic (i.e. soppy), comical in parts. Will never forget the image of Gunnie telling the dog to run after MY instead of him, the race w Daniel cracks me up everytime. This drama is a gem, one of the best i have watched of K dramas and the teamwork between the actors, crew and staff is amazing. Plus the songs too! I wish that this drama will also win awards for the fab production.

  6. hat translated review on soompi is so, so, so beautiful, and I think it says a lot about the strength of the acting/storytelling that I was able to grasp so much of the show’s message even when I was watching it without subs.

    But re: that review again, I think it really pins down so much of what this show is about. That Fate can deal you all sorts of hands, but it’s how you choose to play it (and whether you choose to play at all, really) that truly determines your path in life. That happiness isn’t just something that happens to you, or something that you wait for. Happiness is a state of being and a choice; happiness is a moment, or five years, or a lifetime. It’s not an ultimate destination, or a prize. We can get so caught up in the search for happiness, or the process of achieving it, or the fear that we may never find it or that we’re somehow unworthy of that joy.
    Mi Young chose her happiness in ep 18 – that no matter how difficult things may or may not become, her joy and her light is wherever Geon is. And this episode gave Geon a chance to choose his happiness too, without fear or burden.

    And I’m so, so, so happy that the writers haven’t backpedaled on the whole genetic disease thing. It has been a legitimate and well-thought out element of Geon’s character arc and FTLY’s theme as a whole. It wasn’t a tired cliche, not a cheap trick used by incompetent writers so that there could be contrived reasons for the couple to be separated and brought back together. Perfect example of a trope written right and executed wonderfully.

    Also choked up so hard at the flashbacks with Geon’s dad. “Laugh like this, okay?”.
    oOOF.

  7. maybe that is the biggest reason we all love this drama and Gun and Mi Young so much……there is so much love wrapped up into it……they offer it up even through difficult times for all of us to soak up like the rays of the sun each week……we get high on love….and once inside us…it just explodes out of us onto everyone and everything around us. We have a big showering of love every week…and who doesn’t need more of that in their life? In the world?

    • YES. There’s so much heart here, so much pure, selfless affection. It’s what sets this show apart from so many of the other romcoms I’ve seen (as much as I love those, too). It’s bright, and hopeful, and kind, and uplifting, and full of good people who love each other and want the best for each other. It’s almost healing, in a way. It would be so unrealistic and selfish of me to demand more episodes for the next 10 years or whatever, bit gosh. Everything we got so far sure has been special, hasn’t it?

  8. oh this was like the best ever! I think I squealed out loud when the episode first started just seeing them getting married!!! SO MUCH happiness and joy and love in this one! I am happy beyond belief it is going this route with another entire episode to go! The chemistry between Gun and Mi Young has been superb….LOVED their baking bread together…their playful kisses….LOVED the scene in the park and exercising……LOVED Gun’s interaction with Mi Young’s mother…..you know she loves him so much too….I could go on and on and on and fill this entire page with things I LOVED about this episode and this drama. I have to work now…it is 4:00 a.m. my time and I need to get to it but I will probably be back. OH, I love how we are finding more out about Gun’s father and the buried treasure from his childhood he got to dig up? The letter? Wow….I am going to love this one forever…..and will watch it many times over. sigh………yes…still sweet sighing….may never be able to breathe properly again hahaha

Leave a Reply

