Fated to love you – Ep 7 – Thoughts and discussion


I’m opening the post early and I also want to share these teasers that drove me nuts!

20140723-014007.jpg

20140723-014044.jpg

20140723-014147.jpg

20140723-014201.jpg

29 responses to “Fated to love you – Ep 7 – Thoughts and discussion

  1. Talk about sexual tension in that last scene – Wowza! I love it because up to this point, I felt mostly he was attracted to her inner self, but I really felt in this scene that he is definitely attracted to her and sees all of her beauty. I loved their tension. It doesn’t surprise me that she was the first one to be overwhelmed by the heat.

    I’m glad that he’s finally prepared to have “the talk” with Se Ra and planning to tell her in person (even though I’m sure it won’t work out as he plans). He knows he needs to talk to her.

    • My heart skipped a beat. The way he stared at her. Melt. Swoon. Spazz.
      Jang Hyuk is all man. Perfect scene.
      Like @youholdthewater I keep waiting for the show to let me down but every ep keeps knocking it out of the park. It’s ridiculous now – 7 eps, 7 times I cried during the ep. This has NEVER happened to me before. NEVER.

    • I think hands down the happiest moment for me was when Geon decided to tell Sera. I was very proud of him 🙂

  2. youholdthewater

    I’ll need to watch it again with subtitles, but just skimming through the raw version was utterly delightful. Every time I start worrying that the show is going to go off the rails and let me down somehow (which is a worry I have every week tbh, because FTLY almost seems too good to be true so far) the next episode comes along and it’s adorable and perfect and I completely forget that I ever doubted it for a second.

    Also re: the scene where Geon reads the bedtime story to Mi Young and the baby – am I the only one who felt like it was Jang Nara the actress who genuinely cracked up at Jang Hyuk’s maniac tiger laugh? Because I wouldn’t have been able to keep a straight face either.

    • I understand your worry completely! I’m starting to let go of that a little though. Like you said the show always manages to come around and be just as good (or better) than before. The end of ep 6 left me so angry and upset with Daniel. I was worried that Geon was going to blame Mi Young and yell at her and everything was going to crumble into one of my least favorite tropes. But! The show pulled around and managed to keep everyone sympathetic. So many misunderstandings were cleared up. Even Daniel won me back by encouraging Mi Young to go home and work out her marriage. I really, REALLY hope he continues to be her big brother rather than a potential love interest, because Mi Young deserves to have more people looking out for her.

  3. One thing that’s more obvious in this ep is that Geon’s been very lonely for a long time. That’s why, other than out of worry, he had a difficult time handling Mi Young’s very short absence. And that he’s so drawn to her and her family. He’s so ready to give out his care and love and so willing to share other people’s life when given the chances. I think that’s the problem with Geon and Se Ra’s relationship. As illustrated by his proposal speech, there is an emotional distance between them. There’s a void in him that Se Ra has yet to fill, but having Mi Young in his life seems to make that void disappear.

    • So true. Geon didn’t realize he was lonely until MY left him. It’s so telling indeed. I like how you zeroed in on the difference of his relationship with the two. MY now is making him reconsider his feelings for Se Ra. 🙂

      • Yeah. Se Ra has done nothing wrong really. She just wasn’t there. It’s very simple. Long distance relationships are hard to maintain.

      • I’d say not enough emotional investment and connection between Geon and Se Ra. Not that they don’t love each other, but love can be a passion that easily fade away when the partners don’t have a solid bond. Geon and Mi Young had an instant connection between them and their relationship has grown so much from then. Rather than saying they’re meant to be, I think ‘they make it work’ might be a better way to put it.

  4. Btw, after watching the ep8 preview, I’m more hopeful that Gun and MY’s sleeping together is more than sleeping. They’re just too sweet that show something must have happened the previous night 😀

  5. Man, I can’t wait for the next episode. Episode 7 was so good, it looks like Geonni has it bad for his wife and MY is no different. I watched the whole episode live, not understanding Korean, I found it very entertaining. But with the subs, I realized there were touching moments and found myself tearing up, specifically when the baby was born and they were thanking Geon for his efforts. When MY’s sister apologized to their mom upon realizing how hard childbirth was, then assuring her that she’ll be a good daughter. Geon was obviously touched. MY’s family has warmly accepted him as their own. Also, later on in the episode, when he said she was not someone trivial that he would easily dismiss (like a post it note leaving no residue), she superglue who has now evolved into someone he can’t easily remove. Awesome!

  6. sorry if i’m sound like whining. just super sad with rating. coz another drama premiere with high number so it depressed me. i love Hyukie so much so i want everything good for him. 😦 i love his passion, his acting and i think it’s better than anyone. and Nara unni character is one that rarely been found in K-drama. well, Geon character too. some people maybe don’t care and just enjoy the show. but, for me i want to enjoy with the feeling that everyone else enjoying and liking it. *tears.

    • But girl! I think Fated to love you did better than Its ok, its love right? I was happily surprised. The competition is strong. If Fated to love you aired next to other not so exciting dramas it would’ve been a huge hit. I love the fact that those who love it, really really really love it 😊

      • yeah but it can be beatable anytime soon. the drama premiere rating is higher than FTLY. sometimes, what make me pissed off is the excitement is more than a good story. or they already hv a faithful follower. you know sometimes Soompi is not helping too. (another thing that make me pissed). there’s little news about FTLY compare to other 2 drama before. lately, when it getting more buzz in last 2 episode, just then they keep posting the news regarding FTLY.
        now, i can be really mean and whining when it come to Hyuk oppa, LOL. sorry girls.

    • At least it didn’t drop, so at least those watching will continue to watch. I’m with u that the locals need to give more attention to this awesome show. They don’t know what they r missing out!!!

      Let’s all cross fingers together that tonight will be better! *sends telepathy to Korea*

    • I’m disappointed at the ratings too. However, the re-runs ratings are very good, right? Perhaps people have changed their habits of watching dramas or they simply have too many options. Anyway, FtLY is an excellent drama which is a rare successful remake. Let’s just hope the ratings will get better and better. We’ll just enjoy the drama, the BTS, the threads and discussions while it’s broadcasting.

    • One thing that’s more obvious in this ep is that Geon’s been very lonely for a long time. That’s why, other than out of worry, he had a difficult time handling Mi Young’s very short absence. And that he’s so drawn to her and her family. He’s so ready to give out his care and love and so willing to share other people’s life when given the chances. I think that’s the problem with Geon and Se Ra’s relationship. As illustrated by his proposal speech, there is an emotional distance between them. There’s a void in him that Se Ra has yet to fill, but having Mi Young in his life seems to make that void disappear.

    • I’m sad by the ratings too but if you think about it, the show started with a very low 6 and it’s steadily climbed to a very respectable 10% if I’m not mistaken, which is a huge increase. And I think it will only keep climbing if the show keeps it up!

  7. I’m too in love with our OTP. They work so great as a team. And, I suppose you will be happy with a decision Geon made in this ep. 🙂

    • I haven’t watched it subs but Ive read recaps and watching clips andddddddd Im spazzing so much!!!!!! I seriously don’t care about plot! Why are they so adorable that I want to cry!!!!

      • Lmao, for real. That’s how I prepared myself for FTLY. Plot? What plot? Give me all the cuteness. HUEHAHAHA
        You’ll love this ep even more once you watch it with subs. ADORABLENESS OVERLOAD. Especially the hospital scene and every scene afterwards. I had hearts in my eyes.

  8. Ahhhhhh.. the elusive kiss..

    • I want the kiss, but then he’ll be accused of cheating for real or for falling too fast :p I wonder if I care for his reputation! I want a kiss!!!!

  9. How can you expect me to sleep after seeing all these teaser pictures? Oh my oh my! Geon, are you going to kiss MY or not?

Leave a Reply

