10 reasons to watch Thank You – Spoiler free


I finished my rewatch but I’m finding it hard to let go of Thank You. I still have ideas for MVs and will highlight some BTS material I found but for now, I need to leave that on hold and prepare for my Chuno rewatch. So this will be the last Thank You post for a little while (It is one of my favorite dramas so I’ll definitely come back to it)

I already wrote a somewhat random stream of consciousness spoilery review, but then this idea occurred to me. A post to introduce Thank You to those who have not watched this drama and try to persuade them to give it a try.  Read with confidence, since there are no major spoilers below:

1.- Uplifting heartwarming story – I have the feeling the majority of people who read the synopsis of this drama think it’s too sad and gloomy. The drama touches heavy subjects such as terminal illness, prejudice, etc but it does it in a sensitive, non melodramatic way. Yes, it is moving but also heartwarming and uplifting. The show has much more humor than you might expect

ty_beautifulworld_2

2.- A strong female lead – I love Gong Hyo Jin but the two other characters I saw her play after Thank You, were too submissive for my taste. I enjoyed her character’s quirks in Master’s Sun and her performance in general, but her devotion for the male lead, bothered me (even if her clinginess was “justified” by the fact that he blocked her ability to see ghosts, at first) and I couldn’t finish Pasta, despite my appreciation for both leads and writer. I don’t want to spoil but Young Shin is a much more mature character, with many things going on in her life, to make a man her priority. She is the kind of heroine that might seem fragile but is actually pretty strong, brave, resilient, and a great mother.

ThankYou_01_01_Title_1_00055

3.- A tormented “jerkish” turned “perfect” male lead – Dr Min starts off as a conflicted fellow (ok, a jerk) but he never really feels like your typical korean drama jerk lead. He is arrogant and cranky, but we can see he is struggling with a number of demons, right away. So we never hate him, and when he finally “sees the light” he turns into  one of the best korean drama male leads, hands down. He keeps the super sexy confidence from early episodes and adds compassion, caring, love, romanticism, devotion, etc. I won’t say more or I’ll fall on spoiler zone. Suffice it to say, you will fall in love with him. It’s guaranteed.

10299531_10204076987032132_1002330220694592006_n

Thanks to Lady G for this banner. Click to see it in full size.

4.- Jang Hyuk and Gong Hyo Jin chemistry – Some people see it, others don’t. I personally, felt the chemistry, the desire, the sexual tension built up during their bantering and almost kisses. There was chemistry, bonding and love between them.  Even stronger than chemistry, there was great rapport between these two strong performers. Both have the ability to communicate so much with just their eyes, and they used it all the time.

jh_ty_almostkiss2

5.- No villains – From the second leads to the “mother in law” none of these characters was one dimensional or cookie cutter. They all are justified and feel real. The drama’s strength is in its characters.

ThankYou_03_01_Title_1_00057

6.- Adorable Bom – Seo Shin Ae shone brightly in Thank You. I remember feeling that she was the show on my first watch. She is the one that impressed me most at first. This drama wouldn’t have been the same without such an adorable and talented young actress. Lee Bom is the heart of this drama and Seo Shin Ae’s talent will blow you away.

ty_bom_angelic

7.- Adorable Mr Lee – Ok, maybe Bom is half of the heart, because Mr Lee was also very special. The cutest grandpa, provided a lot of the humorous moments in the drama, and also the most poignant and moving. Mr Lee and his choco pies are forever etched in my heart.

ty_bro_pee2

8.- Shower scenes – Need I say more?

ty_minki_abs2 ty_minki_shower ty_minki_abs3

9.- Nostalgic warm OST – Not the usual kpopish numbers we find in recent dramas, Thank You’s OST is sweet, heartwarming and somewhat nostalgic. It suits the drama.

10.- Happy ending – I know many dramas viewers are afraid of sad endings, so you can feel safe with this drama.

JUST WATCH IT!
27 responses to “10 reasons to watch Thank You – Spoiler free

  1. Ok you have convinced me, I am going to watch Thank You next !

  2. I have recommended this as a must watch to a friend who is into room com. I think the description as a sleeper drama is so true. It’s sweet, warm, melodramatic but not too heavy. Chuno was depressing in some parts but yet Thank You was not even though the daily life of YS can be depressing. I downloaded the songs and learning the lyrics. Can someone pls tell me who is the songwriter and singer for Beautiful World? Tried searching, no success.

  3. Hi…Since I finished the drama, I started reading,which is another watching but through eyes of the writer ^^ mmm..I agree with your 10 reasons..I would say the same(&I did say some on twitter while watching:)…
    if I can add 11th reason, it shall be “tears of compassion”
    though I am a person who likes happy ending but I appreciate it more when it comes after some tears, provided that the tears are compassion tears not melancholic stressful dose of sadness.such tears make us humans …awaken our feelings…bring us smile later and such tears are part of this drama ^^

    • My dear Amany! I love reading you here 🙂 I agree wholeheartedly with this statement. I make the comparison with Chuno which makes me cry but in a heart-wrenching way. Thank You brought tears in a heart-warming way. I was overwhelmed by the beauty of this sweet and human moments that I couldn’t help but cry 🙂

  4. I think just me who watching this drama dozens of times. I don’t know, just…. once you watched this drama, you will be hooked and doubtless, you will repeat it again. Hmm, maybe this drama have magic or something.

  5. oh my comment did not send?

  6. Cahy, the gifs are good. I only see a problem in the fourth one, It kind of gets distorted, What program are you using?

    • thank you..realy?that come for me corect..um..by GIF Movie Gear.i get photo from movie by VLC media player and i put them in that program.

  7. hellooooooooo how are you?i come back!umm i love this drama so that i saw it 8 times agane!and i say it’s story for 23 bodys!

    • My Cathy is back!!!!!!! Where have you been friend!!! We missed you so much! I actually went to your blog looking for you but again I didn’t know where to comment! Welcome back!!!!

      • awwwww i miss you so much too,oh I had a very hard test for go to university,it is on 27/june
        oh sorry about my blog,that wrightten persian and you right
        oh!i learn that how make gif!please see these.i love it

        are thease good?

  8. I LOVED the female lead here. I LOVED the grandpa. I LOVED the kid. and I LOOOOOVED Dr. Min. There wasn’t a character in this drama I didn’t love, and it was just such a lovely, lovely, lovely drama. Well done pointing out reasons to love this drama, with perfect captures and gifs here and there…The drama is soooooo freakin amazing that it prob won’t be able to sense all its greatness without actually watching it, but this is a great non-spoiler introduction! Hope this post will move some people to watch it and enjoy the happiness 😀

  9. Beautiful reasons to watch. I should do a re-watch. But I will need another box of tissues. Maybe 2 if I get my sister to watch. lol. That soundtrack cuts to the heart. I’m not a big fan of Gong Hyo Jin, but I think she was amazing in this role. It’s my favorite of hers. I feel like most of her other drama characters are all cut from the same cloth. Maybe it has to do with her acting style. Anyway, Dr. Min is one of Jang Hyuk’s finest roles to date. So many layers to his character, but that’s also because of his amazing talent.

    • I love Gong Hyo Jin and find her adorable but Young Shin is still my favorite character of hers as well. The other two I saw were similar and too submissive. Young Shin was more complex, justified and deep down, strong. Its ironic that as much as I complain she never totally fell for Dr Min, it is precisely that, what makes me respect and love her and see her as more than just “a woman in love” she is a mother, she is head of a family, she has a life, she is interesting and admirable. Also, the fact that she doesn’t fall head over heels for him makes his pursuit more interesting and hotter, cuter. There is banter, there is tension and they are equals because she holds some “power” over him (the fact that he is the one more in love) whereas in Pasta she was all “Chep chep chep” gahhh. And that’s why I couldn’t finish that other drama lol

    • It’s not as sad as Chuno, is it? 🙂

  10. Wow! Nicely done!! As you know, this is one of my favourites. It’s very very true, the drama’s strength is in its characters, all of ’em, big and small. But also it’s a terrific balance between plot stuff, and character stuff, and heavy, meaty thematic stuff with light, comic, character beats. It’s really brilliant, and I’m hard pressed to think of another drama that’s like this (although of course, I haven’t seen that many to begin with!). I wouldn’t call Min Kiseo loveable, but he really comes a long way in this drama, and of course, Jang Hyuk’s eyes are…mmmm. I can see why some didn’t see the chemistry between her and JH, and I don’t think it comes as naturally between them as say, her and So Ji Sub, but it so doesn’t matter because a) they are great actors and b) they had a great script, and that is all you need!!
    Thanks for the shower scene gifs 😀

    • Yeah I know I’m in the minority but I didn’t quite see the famous chemistry between GHJ and SJS in Master’s Sun. Maybe because despite the fact that I enjoyed the drama, I didn’t fall in love with it, or the couple. So I guess I disagree on that point. But I agree on the rest 🙂

      • You are also very good in cheerleading! Seriously. Are you posting these gifs on tumblr? I wanna reblog them.
        Also, I just finished ep 10 of Chuno last night, and holy cow I had a fit. I’m so afraid for Daegil!! And, like everyone around him! Argggh. And i hate that the recaps on DB stop at 15. Have you read the ep 10 recap? I think that’s literally the most beautiful recap I’ve ever read, and it really helped me appreciate Onion (sorry, I just had to). Sorry, wrong drama, but I can’t post this on your other Chuno posts coz, spoilers!!!

        • Oh now I will read the recap! And pretty soon we’ll have posts to comment on here! I already dl all of it! But I can’t make the subs sync aghhh but I’ll get there! And I tried to post my newest gifs on tumblr but it gave me some nonsense about my browser being outdated agghhh but I’ll get there too. The shower scenes are from a previous post so I think I did post them tumblr way back when. I’ll dig them up for you 🙂

          • Oh ok no worries I’ll just search the tag on tumblr. And OMG there is NO OTHER WAY TO WATCH CHUNO other than on HD and on at least a 36″ screen. Anything less doesn’t do it justice. Trust me, you’ll die. It’s unbelievably gorgeous!! And that epic epic fight at the end of ep 10, I just, GAAAH.

    • I however understand why some people might not feel the chemistry between GHJ and JH in Thank You. It was almost one sided love from his part. It was never developed, she was not smitten with the male lead the way she was in MS or Pasta, she never kissed him back, etc. It was all in character but a pity because as we know GHJ can kiss and JH can also kiss. I felt all kinds of feelings in those almost kisses. Every time he teased her. So hot!

      • True, coz she had other things on her mind! Like earning a living, and taking care of her sick child, and Mr Lee, and putting up with her awful neighbours! So excuse her if she doesn’t just fall at the good doctor’s feet (like I would’ve ;P). And oooooh that scene at night, on the road, HOT DAMNN Min Kiseu!

        • Of course I totally excuse her! Didn’t you read my Waxing poetic about Young Shin post? Lol I always understood her character while feeling frustrated that the actors didn’t do the proper kissing I know they are capable of :p

          • Wait, there wasn’t a proper kiss? I can’t remember. Is that possible?? Maybe him coming on to her on the road was so hot that in my mind that it didn’t feel necessary.

Leave a Reply

