Vogue April 2014 – Jang Hyuk, Desperate Man – Photos and Interview excerpts


20140325-023724.jpg

Thanks to Zoi from Just…Jang Hyuk blog for the photo and Gumi for the translation. I really like the first quote even though we don’t have much context for it. Also, he revealed that he will play the role of Lee Ban Wong in the movie Age of Innocence :)

“I don’t think age matters. Even in 40s, 50s, you will feel exactly the same as teenagers. But unlike kids who play superman not knowing it’s dangerous, adults know that it hurts when you fall, so they become cautious.”

Q: You really film without resting
A: People in other careers, they work every day unless they apply for vacation, right? To me, filming site is my work place. And it’s not like I film every day. I’m also kind of used to it, so I can find myself enough time to rest.

Q: You enjoy working?
A: Except the time I spend with my family, I enjoy my time in filming site the most. Because actors I meet in filming sites are the most realistic. I watch them acting through monitor, and get their reactions to mine. That is a great privilege.

(after talking about how he used to impulsively start walking to airport when he was young)

Q: Do you still want to randomly go on a trip these days?
A: I could go if I wanted to, but I know now what places have what kind of feelings. I don’t feel the special need to go on a trip. But what’s fun about filming site is, it’s kind of like a trip. I’m going there to act, but if I get some music prepared as I get on car, it becomes really nice. And sometimes we stay somewhere for a couple of days, and I get to look around when I’m not filming. While filming Chuno I was really impressed. Wow, there were such places in Korea! It’s just not well-known, but there are a lot of nice places in Korea

Q: I heard your next movie is also historical. You’ll get to go on nice trips again!
A: Not really, because now I’m in higher class. In historical films, the lower your class is, the more places you go. My role is Lee Bang Won before he becomes a king. Its setting is “War of Princes” in early Chosun. I could move around people with my single finger, so I guess I won’t be moving much.

8 responses to “Vogue April 2014 – Jang Hyuk, Desperate Man – Photos and Interview excerpts

  1. permission to share in Soompi girls. :) he looks so amazing. waaaaaaaa.

  2. I’ve been a fan of different actors for many years and to this day people make so much fuss over stuff. In one case the poor guy has been dead 30 years and it just goes on and on and on. After a while you just want to take a deep breath, step back, and enjoy them for the work they did (or do.) Why sweat everything? You see internet fights break out and all sorts of netizen craziness. It doesn’t add an inch to your own life, right? Only stress perhaps!
    What I like about Jang Hyuk is he’s not a glory seeking, attention hog, he certainly doesn’t come off that way. :) As you said right, he’s laid back and down to earth. He does his job in the best way and packs up and goes home to his family. I love actors like that. You can tell they truly enjoy their craft and try their best to improve. But they aren’t all about ‘image’ and selling themselves out.

  3. The pictures are extremely gorgeous!

    • I liked them a lot! I liked the concept. You must be right about the age comment. He seems to be very laid back and down to earth. His fans, including me, worry so much about his career moves, or about audience response, as if they were life or death decisions, but he seems so normal and relaxed. Its a fun job, its an inspiring fulfilling job, but it is a job! I liked reading him. He makes me realize I’m making a fuss for nothing most of the time 😋

      • It’s funny how the actors can be so level headed about their own fame (Some! Like him, who don’t let it go to their heads) but the fans are deeply involved to the point of insanity. Like the woman who was just released from Jail on Parole after threatening Hugh Jackman to marry her and brandishing a weapon. Scary that she’s out again. But those are extreme cases, those people are just not all there to begin with and become fixated. I’m a fan that tends to become fixated, but not digging into personal lives. I’m not one who needs to know all the dirt, etc. I don’t like to dredge up dirt, which is what happens the more people dig like paparazzi. Because all humans have dirt. :p It’s inevitable. But I like their performances. And it’s a huge plus if they have a stellar reputation like Jang Hyuk!

        • I was just thinking today about myself as a fan. I am very obsessive but I never care about their personal lives. I don’t even want to know more than what they are willing to share and if they share too much I get a bit disappointed. I do love to know about the drama behind the dramas though, behind the scenes information etc and I love to know what actors think and feel for their characters, etc

          • You’re just like me! I hate to be disappointed. And it does happen. Sometimes I skip behind the scenes completely for a long time because I want to bask in the movie/drama magic and believe in it for a while. lol

  4. Thank you for the translations. I like what he said about acting being a job. It’s so simple. It’s fans that want to blow it up to god-like proportions. I geek out with the rest of them about my favorite stars, no doubt about it, but there comes a point where you say, enough, they are doing what they are paid to do-entertain. Some people can’t distinguish that though. :p I have a feeling the age comment was in regards to the movie and the relationship with the young woman of 18.

Leave a Reply

